Just curious if people record using measures or time

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, rsaintjohn

cactus-head

Just curious if people record using measures or time

Post by cactus-head »

Hello,

I was just curious, do people record in Mixcraft using Beats and Measures or do you use time? Because I studied music when I was younger, I gravitate towards lining everything up in measures. But, back in the day when we used the recording studio at university, or even at home using 4 track tape recorders, or even in the local recording studios when the medium was tape everything was based on time and the position of the clock - not measures.

The thing about tape, if you used a click track, tempos were more or less pretty steady. However, there was always a little stretchiness in the tape, the phsycial amount of tape that passes over the head as one reel unwinds and the other winds, or little fluctuations in the speed of the machines that might change the timing a little bit over the course of the recording. And engineers would take a razor blade and cut a chunk out here, put that chunk in over there, or just throw it out.

Nowadays we can really be precise with our professional and home studios. Do you think recordings made today are more mechanical and robotic because of the precision that can be maintained with computers? Or maybe not - maybe we have the tools to explore deeper musicality with the amount of control we have. I'm just curious what people think and if they use the clock or use measures to record. I'm starting to think that using measures for digital recording is too accurate and takes a little out of the natural flow of music.
jwarv

Re: Just curious if people record using measures or time

Post by jwarv »

Spiritual spam? :?
freightgod

Post by freightgod »

Donovan is that you?
cactus-head

Post by cactus-head »

Donovan is that you?
Hurdy Gurdy Man?