midi controller compatibility - Novation MK3? Akai mk3?

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, rsaintjohn

Sturdy

midi controller compatibility - Novation MK3? Akai mk3?

Post by Sturdy »

HI all, I'm considering getting a small midi controller to use with Mixcraft 9 and want to know if anyone is using these without issue with Mixcraft 9? I'm a guitarist and know little about midi controllers - but want to get something that has compatibility to learn to use some mixcraft features and vst instruments. For compatibility, I'm not sure if the control surface area of mixcraft is relevant, but photo of control surface preferences is attached for reference.

Is anybody using these without compatibility problems with Mixcraft? (Sorry if this is a dumb question - I am just ignorant on potential compatibility concerns or how midi controllers can/should even be used with DAWs, and mainly want to get a starter something that works without trouble).

Novation Launchkey mk3 mini (25 mini key version)
https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail ... controller
(in the control surfaces section of mixcraft it lists launchkey mini, but other launchkey options mentioned list mk2, so not sure if mk3 is different or are cross compatible?)

Novation Launchkey mk3 (full size keys 25 or 37 key version)

Novation Impulse 25 (more full featured version of above 2 maybe?)

Akai mini MPK mk3 (25 mini key)

Akai MPK225 (25 full size keys, seems one of most pupular and full featured small controllers)