computer for just running mixcraft 9

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Post Reply
blkmonday
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2021 4:52 pm

computer for just running mixcraft 9

Post by blkmonday » Sat Sep 04, 2021 5:14 pm

so my current computers keep crashing with mixcraft 7 and 9 to the point where i gave up computer based recording and got my hands on a Tascam 24 track. the tascam is cool easy plug in and record but limited. Im looking to either upgrade my current computer or just purchase a new tower that is able to handle this program with no problems. i know next to nothing about computers so im seeking advice. currently i have a HP Omni 200-5380qd with windows 10, intel i7 880@3.07 ghz, 8G ram and 64bit. would adding an external hard dive help? or installing more ram inside? if i was to go with something new is a Dell xps 8930 with six core i7 16gb and 2tb hard drive and 256 solid drive a good pick? also i currently use a Tascam us-1200 as my interface. any advice would be appreciated...budget around 800 bucks or less but not restricted to that i guess

Mr.Mxyzptlk
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat May 23, 2020 11:28 pm

Re: computer for just running mixcraft 9

Post by Mr.Mxyzptlk » Sat Sep 04, 2021 6:32 pm

Talk about coincidence! I just sent an enquiry about the very same thing today to an IT specialist about building me a bespoke PC specifically just for music production. My current setup does the job but I want to future-proof as far as is possible in the PC game and upgrade a little.

It all depends on how you produce your music. If you mainly use live instruments and audio files with the odd VST here and there, your current setup sounds ok with possibly a question mark on the RAM and upgrading to SSDs all round. However, if you're going to be running a lot of VSTs, soft synths, effects etc. and large samples, that's a different ball game altogether.

I'm also in the process of upgrading my system too as I mentioned earlier. I use a combination of VST soft synths, effects and very large orchestral files (EastWest, BBC Spitfire Audio, Roland and Korg soft synths etc.) and audio files with a view to incorporating vocals in the future. I'm also going to be upgrading to the EastWest Diamond libraries which are around 2TB alone and 24-bit. Just for that I need 8 cores, 32GB and NVMe as a minimum, which I currently do not have. I'm also investing in a Yamaha Montage 7 for more live audio work. So I've asked the PC guys if they can price me up for the following:

i7 8-core processor
64GB or 128GB RAM (preferably)
NVMe SSD root drive
Space for 2 or 3 internal SSDs
USB 3.0 rear ports (minimum eight)
Thunderbolt/USB-C card

I think they were the main things I was after. Hopefully they will be able to use my existing SSDs and graphics card as it runs my 3 monitors via mini DisplayPort, which will reduce the costs a bit. Like you I'm hoping to get within the 1K mark at most.

You didn't say what type of music you produce and how so hope you found my pointers useful.

Good luck!
i7-4790 QC @3.60 GHz, 16GB- Samsung EVO 870 1.5TB (Int) & T7 1.5TB (Ext) SSDs- Samsung 24" x 3 Monitors- PreSonus AudioBox USB 96- Yamaha Montage 7, SY85- AKG D5- MX9 Pro- ComposerCloud X- Roland Cloud- KORG Collection- BBC Symphony- iZotope Pro

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2856
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: computer for just running mixcraft 9

Post by trevlyns » Sun Sep 05, 2021 1:23 am

then on the other hand, my highly dated computer (see spec in my signature) easily handles my largest project to date. 68 tracks (none frozen), most with FX and automation.
Also a technophobe, so the Techy Gods must be with me :mrgreen:
Keep on trackin'

Trevor
Official OFC™ Founding Member
Win 10 64 bit; MX9 Pro; Intel core i-5 - 2500 CPU@ 3.30 GHz; 4 GB RAM
Sample Projects: https://soundcloud.com/user-207376906

Mr.Mxyzptlk
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat May 23, 2020 11:28 pm

Re: computer for just running mixcraft 9

Post by Mr.Mxyzptlk » Sun Sep 05, 2021 5:30 am

trevlyns wrote:
Sun Sep 05, 2021 1:23 am
then on the other hand, my highly dated computer (see spec in my signature) easily handles my largest project to date. 68 tracks (none frozen), most with FX and automation.
Also a technophobe, so the Techy Gods must be with me :mrgreen:
That's pretty good going Trev. 8) Were they mainly audio tracks or were you using VST synths etc.? I don't know how you're getting away with just 4GB RAM?
i7-4790 QC @3.60 GHz, 16GB- Samsung EVO 870 1.5TB (Int) & T7 1.5TB (Ext) SSDs- Samsung 24" x 3 Monitors- PreSonus AudioBox USB 96- Yamaha Montage 7, SY85- AKG D5- MX9 Pro- ComposerCloud X- Roland Cloud- KORG Collection- BBC Symphony- iZotope Pro

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2856
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: computer for just running mixcraft 9

Post by trevlyns » Sun Sep 05, 2021 6:25 am

Tracks downloaded from the internet - WAV's This was for a mixing project
Keep on trackin'

Trevor
Official OFC™ Founding Member
Win 10 64 bit; MX9 Pro; Intel core i-5 - 2500 CPU@ 3.30 GHz; 4 GB RAM
Sample Projects: https://soundcloud.com/user-207376906

blkmonday
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2021 4:52 pm

Re: computer for just running mixcraft 9

Post by blkmonday » Sun Sep 05, 2021 7:10 am

im really doing basic stuff right now live instruments..guitars and vocals mainly and some Roland V drums. using the built in effects. no plug ins. do you think adding an external hard drive would help at all? im going through deleting programs freeing up space and im going to follow the instructions Mixcraft has for getting the computer to run at high performance.........all this time i should be spending recording and not playing computer tech ugh. wish there was an easy fix

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 7151
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: computer for just running mixcraft 9

Post by Mark Bliss » Sun Sep 05, 2021 7:48 am

Generally a traditional external hard drive works well for storage, archiving, etc. Not so much for read/write performance.
An ssd as a primary drive however can be a benefit.

I am with Trevor. I have had good performance with far lower specs than you listed, and would opine that your problems may not be primarily with your computer. It depends a great deal on your specific use and needs though.
Stay in tune, Mark

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

Post Reply