recommended interface for MixCraft?

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Post Reply
User avatar
kr236rk
Posts: 509
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:54 pm

recommended interface for MixCraft?

Post by kr236rk » Tue Feb 02, 2010 5:52 pm

Hi,

think my M-Audio FastTrack USB interface is going up the creek. can anyone suggest an alternative interface for multiple audio sources please - vocal, guitar, keyboards and so forth?

many thanks

Ric

User avatar
kr236rk
Posts: 509
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:54 pm

E-MU 0202 USB 2.0 Audio Interface

Post by kr236rk » Tue Feb 02, 2010 7:12 pm

i see there's this recommended here: E-MU 0202 USB 2.0 Audio Interface. Anybody use it please?

thanks

R

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20911
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue Feb 02, 2010 7:51 pm

Hi,

Yes, the E-Mu 0202 seems to work well for most people.

Greg

User avatar
kr236rk
Posts: 509
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:54 pm

TBIA?

Post by kr236rk » Wed Feb 03, 2010 3:23 am

Acoustica Greg wrote:Hi,

Yes, the E-Mu 0202 seems to work well for most people.

Greg
thanks Greg - i also notice the FastTrack is not recommended: i am getting TBIA warning signs on startup (XP) and wondered if this was connected with Avid?

http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&so ... avid&meta=

please advise

thanks again

Ric

G.Love
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 9:17 am

Post by G.Love » Wed Feb 03, 2010 9:43 pm

Got this a couple of weeks ago. Inexpensive, no problems, works great with Mixcraft 5.

http://www.tascam.com/products/us-122mkII.html

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20911
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: TBIA?

Post by Acoustica Greg » Wed Feb 03, 2010 10:53 pm

I don't know. You should contact M-Audio support and see what they say.
kr236rk wrote:thanks Greg - i also notice the FastTrack is not recommended: i am getting TBIA warning signs on startup (XP) and wondered if this was connected with Avid?

http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&so ... avid&meta=

please advise

thanks again

Ric

User avatar
kr236rk
Posts: 509
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:54 pm

Post by kr236rk » Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:43 am

G.Love wrote:Got this a couple of weeks ago. Inexpensive, no problems, works great with Mixcraft 5.

http://www.tascam.com/products/us-122mkII.html
thanks - that looks like a very nice piece of kit but i would be tempted to go for the E-MU since it is practically calibrated for MixCraft?

http://www.emu.com/products/product.asp ... duct=15186

wonder what the basic difference is between the E-MU and the TASCAM?

bests

Ric

User avatar
kr236rk
Posts: 509
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:54 pm

Re: TBIA?

Post by kr236rk » Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:49 am

Acoustica Greg wrote:I don't know. You should contact M-Audio support and see what they say.
kr236rk wrote:thanks Greg - i also notice the FastTrack is not recommended: i am getting TBIA warning signs on startup (XP) and wondered if this was connected with Avid?

http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&so ... avid&meta=

please advise...
Greg, i have been right through the M-Audio FAQ for removing TBIA, it didn't work, and to compound my suspicions, on running the latest Fast Track driver, TBIA instantly appeared back on the screen. this could be a coincidence of course but I really want to try an alternative to FT I, time for a change?

thanks

R

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20911
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Post by Acoustica Greg » Thu Feb 04, 2010 9:41 am

Hi,

We've been seeing some problems with other Tascam models and 64-bit Windows 7. I haven't done a feature comparison between the two devices, and we don't have the Tascam unit here for testing, but a lot of people use them.

Greg

User avatar
kr236rk
Posts: 509
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:54 pm

FT I

Post by kr236rk » Thu Feb 04, 2010 12:28 pm

going to completely uninstall FT I from my XP and re-install from the disc. i am going to leave the updated drivers in place because i know for a fact FT will not work properly on the original drivers

it's a shame drivers aren't integral to hardware, they stay there and are immovable like cogs in a watch. no-one buys a car to be updatable, you buy a car to get from A to B. life would be so much simpler if hardware was the same - less flexible maybe - but at least you could expect 3-5 years of stable performance. Most stuff i buy needs a driver update before it's even out of the box :-o

Post Reply