After trying every suggestion people have made...

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, rsaintjohn

strhessed

After trying every suggestion people have made...

Post by strhessed »

I am wondering if it could have something to do with how I have my guitar hooked up to my PC. I am running out of the line-out from my amp into the microphone jack on the back...could this be a problem and if so, what do I need to do ??
strhessed

Post by strhessed »

I just realized that there is a slight pause from when I pluck a string and when I actually hear it come through my computer monitors....I'm kinda new to all this ...PLEASE HELP !!
strhessed

Post by strhessed »

And now i've been reading and apparently, it's latency ? Any suggestions on how to fix it ? I'm not sure if it's my computer or what...I have 512 mb ram and a 2.8 ghz Pentium 4 if that means anything...
Gman

Post by Gman »

Actually, you should be running to the line-in of your sound card as the line-out out of your amp is a preamped source which is usually not compatible with the mic input of a sound card.

The amount of latency you are hearing is huge. Is Mixcraft set to record from your sound card (check the settings in Mixcraft)?
strhessed

Post by strhessed »

I just realized that the 1/4 to 1/8 adapter I have is mono. Would that make a difference ? Also, when using the line-in, the levels are not very high. Still getting the latency though :(
Acoustica Eric
Site Admin

re

Post by Acoustica Eric »

Mono is what you want, use a microphone to mic the amp, and plug it into the mic input of the sound card. The latency problem may go away after this because you would then not be using the pc speakers to hear your guitar, you would be using the amp which has no latency from speaker to ear.
strhessed

Post by strhessed »

ok
strhessed

Post by strhessed »