Midi Drum Track

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

Post Reply
Tarkus
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 9:47 pm

Midi Drum Track

Post by Tarkus » Tue Feb 08, 2011 9:50 pm

How do I load a midi drum loop so that different drums (cymbol, snare, etc.) are assigned to different tracks?

Raidx
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 4:45 pm

Post by Raidx » Tue Feb 08, 2011 10:17 pm

Have you tried drag and drop?

Tarkus
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 9:47 pm

Post by Tarkus » Tue Feb 08, 2011 11:23 pm

Sorry for being such a noob, but drag what to where? Please be specific.
Thanks.

Raidx
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 4:45 pm

Post by Raidx » Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:05 am

For exemple go where your sound loops are and drag one (holding your left mouse button on the file) right into your mixcraft window

Leigh
Posts: 436
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 3:15 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Midi Drum Track

Post by Leigh » Wed Feb 09, 2011 4:37 am

Tarkus wrote:How do I load a midi drum loop so that different drums (cymbol, snare, etc.) are assigned to different tracks?
You will need to split the MIDI file up into it's component parts so that you can import it into MC.
If you have a drum MIDI file you can use a free program called MIDI split:
http://www.davidputman.com/?software=midisplit.htm

You can then place your kick drum on one track, your snare on another etc.
You will also need to load your drum sampler software onto each of these tracks to sound the samples.

Which drum sampler are you using by the way?
Windows 7 64-Bit
MC 5.2 Build 152

Tarkus
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 9:47 pm

Post by Tarkus » Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:57 pm

Ok. I installed Midi split and opened a few midi files. Some just drums and others full songs. But it only splits into 2 tracks. Track 1 is metadata and Track 2 is midi. All the drums are on one track. I also tried a program called Midi file splitter but but I get a message that says "no markers found". I got no idea what that means.

Leigh
Posts: 436
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 3:15 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by Leigh » Wed Feb 09, 2011 1:01 pm

Click on track 2 and choose split track by note, then save it.
Windows 7 64-Bit
MC 5.2 Build 152

Tarkus
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 9:47 pm

Post by Tarkus » Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:40 pm

AHH. Now I get it. Thanks so much.

Leigh
Posts: 436
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 3:15 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by Leigh » Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:46 pm

:D
Windows 7 64-Bit
MC 5.2 Build 152

User avatar
Acoustica Eric
Site Admin
Posts: 5786
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

re

Post by Acoustica Eric » Wed Feb 09, 2011 3:15 pm

Neat little app, I often wanted to split a midi file but didn't look around for somethign to do the job. Nice find.

Leigh
Posts: 436
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 3:15 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by Leigh » Wed Feb 09, 2011 3:18 pm

I should put stuff like that on the 'did you know' thread.
It is a cool little app.
Windows 7 64-Bit
MC 5.2 Build 152

OzRob
Posts: 214
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 12:48 am

Post by OzRob » Wed Feb 09, 2011 6:43 pm

Of course in MC6 they could just include an "explode pitch to tracks" feature. :wink:

Post Reply