Can I get some tips on where to begin on my compact studio?

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, rsaintjohn

TimPhilly

Can I get some tips on where to begin on my compact studio?

Post by TimPhilly »

Hey, I'm a new member here, but I've been working with Mixcraft since 2007. Over the years, as I've progressed at music, I've come to find that I'm always in need of better equipment for my poor excuse of a studio so I can receive the optimal quality I need to be taken seriously. This year, I plan on heavily investing in whatever equipment I need to get the ball rolling on an actual production company, but for right now, I'm just looking into the basics.

I work with many independent artists (because of what they call "my mixing magic". My skills probably don't match up to anyone else's on this board though, lol), and the main problem I face is lugging around all of my equipment for sessions, and I've been thinking of ways to make it so I can carry everything I need in a laptop bag. I planned on getting an HP Mini, a Blu condenser microphone, a retractable mic stand (one that I can put into the laptop case, similar to a tripod, if something like that has even been made-has it?), Mixcraft 5, some sort of interface, a mixer, and somewhere down the line, a Midi controller so I can use Reason to produce music (and I'm also looking into getting a high quality camera to take videos of live performances, but I don't know what model or brand I would need). Of course, I know I may need an enhanced sound card to get superb quality, which I'm sure I won't be able to install into an HP Mini, so if that's not a good choice in laptop, what would be? And can anyone give me any tips or recommendations for everything else I'm aiming for?

Thanks for reading.
TimPhilly

Post by TimPhilly »