Quantize an analog track?

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, rsaintjohn

mandofrog

Quantize an analog track?

Post by mandofrog »

Can MixCraft 5.2 quantize the tempo on an analog track? I know it's simple with MIDI. I didn't think you could do that with an analog track though, until a friend did it very simply in Garage Band. I recorded a 5-string banjo (bluegrass style, staccato 1/16th notes) on a few songs, but I'm not much of a banjo player, so the tempo (and string dynamics) wavers a lot.

Once I ported a .wav of the banjo track to my friend's Macbook, it took him about 90 seconds to set up, and GB detected the tempo and quantized the whole track in one pass.

I'm a Noob, so maybe the function is right under my nose, but I fussed with it for a couple hours and couldn't figure out an easy way in MixCraft.

Any ideas?
Acoustica Greg

Post by Acoustica Greg »

Hi,

No, Mixcraft doesn't have an option to quantize audio tracks. Are you sure your friend did that in Garageband? I don't think it has a feature like that.

Thanks for the feature suggestion!

Greg
mandofrog

Post by mandofrog »

Thanks for the reply Greg.

My friend is a strong proponent (fanboy?) of GB (and has even conducted some local workshops on using GB for home projects). Yes, it was Garage Band. I'll query him and find out, step-by-step exactly how (& what version software of course), & whether he's got some secret plug-in or something. If I can get screen shots I'll post 'em. Do your developers have access to GB to check it out?

I'm still skeptical, because making that kind of mod to a waveform file would seem to be rather sophisticated; stretching and compressing the timing numerous times in quick succession, while maintaining pitch. And in one real-time pass through? On a 2-year old off-the-shelf Macbook?