Page 1 of 1

Sound shown as vry loud

Posted: Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:07 pm
by smokyken
I've used SIA for years with no problem with amount of sound. Recently I had to reinstall SIA. Now the sound picture shows excess volume when copying from cassette tape. I haven't changed anything on the tape recorder and am using same tape. I even tried lowering the volume on the recording below what is recommended by the tape recorder. I have used the Leval Wizard. What is the problem?

Re: Sound shown as vry loud

Posted: Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:24 pm
by Acoustica Greg
Hi,

How is the player attached to your computer? If you are using the microphone input on your computer, that could be the problem. Mic inputs have too much gain.

Greg

Re: Sound shown as vry loud

Posted: Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:42 pm
by smokyken
There have been no changes with the hook ups.
Ken

Re: Sound shown as vry loud

Posted: Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:50 pm
by Acoustica Greg
Hi,

Something must have changed. Double-check to make sure you're not using the microphone input. Can you control the output volume of the tape recorder?

Greg

Re: Sound shown as vry loud

Posted: Fri Mar 17, 2017 9:03 am
by smokyken
I can only change the input on the tape recorder and as I said I lowered it more than recommended and lower than previously used. I use the line in input on the computer.

Re: Sound shown as vry loud

Posted: Fri Mar 17, 2017 9:36 am
by Acoustica Greg
Hi,

What else could be different than before? What changed since the last time you were able to get a normal volume level?

Greg

Re: Sound shown as vry loud

Posted: Fri Mar 17, 2017 11:50 am
by smokyken
The computer malfunctioned and all programs had to be re-entered and backup was also no good. Everything has been working fine except SIA.

Re: Sound shown as vry loud

Posted: Fri Mar 17, 2017 12:03 pm
by Acoustica Greg
Hi,

Right-click on the small volume control icon in your Windows task bar and select "Recording Devices." Next, right-click on Line In or whatever you're recording from and select Properties. On the Levels tab, try reducing the recording volume level.

Greg

Re: Sound shown as vry loud

Posted: Fri Mar 17, 2017 12:42 pm
by smokyken
I did what you said. I reduced from 15 to 6, clicked OK twice and closed. I went back to level and it showed 6. I opened SIA and used level wizard. It showed green and some yellow. I closed when it said complete. I then recorded and recording wizard stayed in red and editing display still showed too loud. I then went back to input volume and it had jumped back up to 15.

Re: Sound shown as vry loud

Posted: Fri Mar 17, 2017 2:33 pm
by Acoustica Greg
Hi,

Is there a manual volume control in the Level Wizard? Instead of using the Level Wizard, just set that.
Spin It Again Volume control.
Spin It Again Volume control.
siavolumecontrol.png (27.99 KiB) Viewed 16168 times
Greg

Re: Sound shown as vry loud

Posted: Fri Mar 17, 2017 5:02 pm
by smokyken
No manual volume control.
Ken

Re: Sound shown as vry loud

Posted: Fri Mar 17, 2017 5:17 pm
by Acoustica Greg
Hi,

Then set the recording volume the other way and don't run the level wizard at all.

Greg

Re: Sound shown as vry loud

Posted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 10:11 am
by smokyken
Hi Greg,

What do you mean "the other way"? Other than using level wizard, I see no other way to control volume input.
Ken

Re: Sound shown as vry loud

Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 2:14 pm
by smokyken
Hi Greg,

I fooled around with SIA today and finally solved the problem. You open the level wizard, then open mixer, there you adjust the volume slide and use the level wizard. Record and volume level looks fine.

Ken

Re: Sound shown as vry loud

Posted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 11:06 am
by Acoustica Greg
Hi,

By the other way, I meant via right-clicking on the Windows volume control icon as we discussed earlier in this thread.

Thanks for letting us know you were able to resolve the problem!

Greg