Pop and Click Removal

Support and feedback for Spin It Again.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

JamesS

Pop and Click Removal

Post by JamesS » Fri Mar 31, 2006 2:22 pm

I ran across Acoustica's software while looking for a good CD label maker. So far that product and the CD/MP3 burner are doing great. I love the intuitive interfaces and available options.

Then I discovered SIA. I've been using Groove Mechanic since early 1999 and hoped to find a more up to date and easier to use product. I tried cleaning up some old vinyl record tracks this morning comparing both applications. I found that SIA did a decent job on reducing the background crackle on the disk but very little to eliminate the louder pops. Groove Mechanic, on the other hand, did a good job of eliminating both large amplitude and low amplitude pops, clicks and crackle.

The point here is not to complain about SIA (especially since I haven't registered it), but with the great interface, I'm hoping Acoustica's product will improve to the level of the competition and beyond. Checking the old message board, I don't see any indication in the past about four months of anticipated improvements.

To be brutal, Grove Mechanic works pretty well, but not perfectly, while SIA's results are in my view pretty minimal. The interface thumbs up clearly goes to SIA, but I don't listen to the interface on burned tracks. Groove Mechanic does not burn disks and that potentially adds additional cost, although I suspect most of us have a number of disk burners.

So the question is, can we expect to see really significant improvements to the vinyl to digital pop and click noise reduction in SIA in the not too distant future? I like the other Acoustica products so well, that I had great hope for SIA. At this point, it's level of performance is unfortunately unacceptable.

Acoustica Eric
Site Admin

re

Post by Acoustica Eric » Fri Mar 31, 2006 10:13 pm