Audio Signal too Quiet

Support and feedback for Spin It Again.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Post Reply
lyonsro
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 11:13 pm

Audio Signal too Quiet

Post by lyonsro » Sun Jan 15, 2012 7:22 pm


When attempting to record from a vinyl LP, the sound from my computer speakers is loud and clear, but the audio signal (Level Wizard) is no more than ~1/5 of the maximum. Error message: "audio signal is too quiet"

System Info:
Denon DP-300F turntable; Dell XPS410 desktop PC running on Windows XP (SP3); Audiphile M/M phono preamp (TC-750LC); Creative SoundBlaster Audigy SE soundcard ("SBA"); preamp output jack goes directly to line-in port on soundcard.

Control Panel Settings (Sounds and Audio Devices):
Volume: SBA device=high
Audio: Sound Playback=SBA; Sound Recording=SBA (only other choice is "Modem#0 Line Record")

SIA Settings (v. 2.5b46)
Audio: Playback=Default Wave Device (choices are SBA or Modem#0)
Recording (Level Wizard): Soundcard=SBA; Source=Line-In; Vol=high

I'm beginning to wonder whether I have a defective line-in on my soundcard.

Thanks for any suggestions!

Don Hall
Posts: 290
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 9:42 am

Post by Don Hall » Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:18 pm

Hi
Your Audio Playback should be SBA

lyonsro
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 11:13 pm

Microphone Solves the Puzzle!

Post by lyonsro » Mon Jan 16, 2012 7:11 pm

You are correct, both the Playback and Recording devices need to =soundcard ("SBA"). However, that setting alone does not solve my weak audio signal issue.

By trying various combinations, I found that my input source (as shown in Level Wizard) must be set to "microphone". In that case, my audio signal increases about 10x and I'm a happy camper. In fact, the signal gets too strong when I push up the microphone volume slider. But I still do not understand why Input=Line-In does not work well for my audio recording.

Thanks for your assistance.

Don Hall
Posts: 290
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 9:42 am

Post by Don Hall » Mon Jan 16, 2012 7:19 pm

Glad to be of help.
I don't understand either.
Should be source: Line In and Playback: Soundcard

On using the Microphone Jack, most are Mono not stereo. I would guess that you checked that.

Don

User avatar
Acoustica Eric
Site Admin
Posts: 5794
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

re

Post by Acoustica Eric » Sat Jan 21, 2012 11:18 am

Maybe the autosensing software that installs with the sound card has got the mic and line in mixed up? In any case, recording from the mic input will be mono, you most likely want stereo right?

Post Reply