Mixcraft can't route MIDI correctly?

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

daveiv
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:17 am

Mixcraft can't route MIDI correctly?

Post by daveiv » Fri Jan 18, 2019 8:41 am

I'm trying to use an arpeggiator. I added it before the instrument like Greg showed here: https://www.acoustica.com/images/forum- ... giator.png

But the instrument receives MIDI data from both the arpeggiator and my MIDI keyboard.

You can configure BlueARP (or Kirnu Cream or Nora) to send out, for example, E6 F6 G6 notes when you press C4 key. But it doesn't work in Mixcraft, because the target instrument also plays the C4 coming from the keyboard. Even if you configure the arpeggiator to play C4, Mixcraft makes the instrument play it twice.

Is there a way to solve this problem?

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19773
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft can't route MIDI correctly?

Post by Acoustica Greg » Fri Jan 18, 2019 1:14 pm

Hi,

Someone else mentioned this problem and I filed a bug report on it.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

daveiv
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:17 am

Re: Mixcraft can't route MIDI correctly?

Post by daveiv » Fri Jan 18, 2019 8:22 pm

Ah, glad to know.

Thank you.

liberaltugboat
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 06, 2019 3:46 pm

Re: Mixcraft can't route MIDI correctly?

Post by liberaltugboat » Sun May 12, 2019 2:04 pm

Acoustica Greg wrote:Hi,

Someone else mentioned this problem and I filed a bug report on it.

Greg
Any idea on getting this fixed? It makes a lot of popular VSTs unusable.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19773
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft can't route MIDI correctly?

Post by Acoustica Greg » Mon May 13, 2019 4:43 pm

Hi,

We're not planning on updating Mixcraft 8 anymore, so it would have to be in Mixcraft 9.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

daveiv
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:17 am

Re: Mixcraft can't route MIDI correctly?

Post by daveiv » Tue May 14, 2019 12:29 am

Acoustica Greg wrote:We're not planning on updating Mixcraft 8 anymore, so it would have to be in Mixcraft 9.
All credible software vendors provide bug fixing for previous versions to some degree. Also 9 isn't even released yet. Deprecating the current major version doesn't sound like a good strategy.

User avatar
freightgod
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 5:18 am

Re: Mixcraft can't route MIDI correctly?

Post by freightgod » Tue May 14, 2019 5:39 am

daveiv wrote: All credible software vendors provide bug fixing for previous versions to some degree.
Whoa, now. :roll:

liberaltugboat
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 06, 2019 3:46 pm

Re: Mixcraft can't route MIDI correctly?

Post by liberaltugboat » Tue May 14, 2019 8:20 am

liberaltugboat wrote:
Acoustica Greg wrote:Hi,

Someone else mentioned this problem and I filed a bug report on it.

Greg
Any idea on getting this fixed? It makes a lot of popular VSTs unusable.
Thanks for the follow-up.
It's possible to work around this bug using a VST mini host (I am using ILs Mini Host Modular).

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19773
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft can't route MIDI correctly?

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue May 14, 2019 3:54 pm

daveiv wrote:All credible software vendors provide bug fixing for previous versions to some degree. Also 9 isn't even released yet. Deprecating the current major version doesn't sound like a good strategy.
Hi,

The first release of Mixcraft 8 was build 375. We updated it repeatedly over the course of almost two years until we got to build 418. That represents a lot of bug fixing (and some new features), which can been seen in the Mixcraft 8 version history.

I understand you're interested in this fix. A bug has been filed. Your best chance to get a fix into a version is early in the development cycle, not at the end.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19773
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft can't route MIDI correctly?

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue May 14, 2019 3:57 pm

liberaltugboat wrote:Thanks for the follow-up.
It's possible to work around this bug using a VST mini host (I am using ILs Mini Host Modular).
Hi,

Yes, I hope to see this addressed in Mixcraft 9. It sounds like you found a workaround?

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

bigaquarium
Posts: 422
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Mixcraft can't route MIDI correctly?

Post by bigaquarium » Wed May 15, 2019 7:51 am

.
Attachments
45D41D15-3C6D-4FE5-9A33-2EA3CD9DF8E0.jpeg
45D41D15-3C6D-4FE5-9A33-2EA3CD9DF8E0.jpeg (22.4 KiB) Viewed 1184 times
Last edited by bigaquarium on Mon Aug 26, 2019 7:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

liberaltugboat
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 06, 2019 3:46 pm

Re: Mixcraft can't route MIDI correctly?

Post by liberaltugboat » Wed May 15, 2019 12:31 pm

Acoustica Greg wrote:
liberaltugboat wrote:Thanks for the follow-up.
It's possible to work around this bug using a VST mini host (I am using ILs Mini Host Modular).
Hi,

Yes, I hope to see this addressed in Mixcraft 9. It sounds like you found a workaround?

Greg
Yeah, there are a few work around fixes, the easiest is to use a VST that can host multiple VSTs.

daveiv
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:17 am

Re: Mixcraft can't route MIDI correctly?

Post by daveiv » Sun May 19, 2019 4:13 am

Acoustica Greg wrote:
daveiv wrote:All credible software vendors provide bug fixing for previous versions to some degree. Also 9 isn't even released yet. Deprecating the current major version doesn't sound like a good strategy.
Hi,

The first release of Mixcraft 8 was build 375. We updated it repeatedly over the course of almost two years until we got to build 418. That represents a lot of bug fixing (and some new features), which can been seen in the Mixcraft 8 version history.

I understand you're interested in this fix. A bug has been filed. Your best chance to get a fix into a version is early in the development cycle, not at the end.

Greg
Fair.

Could you share any information about when will Mixcraft 9 become available?

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19773
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft can't route MIDI correctly?

Post by Acoustica Greg » Mon May 20, 2019 3:44 pm

Hi,

We're just getting started on Mixcraft 9. We hope to have it done this year, but anyone familiar with software development knows how that can go.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

skarabee
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 12:17 am

Re: Mixcraft can't route MIDI correctly?

Post by skarabee » Fri May 24, 2019 4:55 am

So, there will be no bug corrections for M8 anymore?
I can understand this went it comes to new features, but this is a serious midi bug, not a feature request.
Happy to read that M9 is on the road, and was ready to upgrade, but not sure to continue the adventure after reading this.

Post Reply