Is there a way to have 'versions' right in a project?

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Post Reply
podonnell
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2022 3:56 pm

Is there a way to have 'versions' right in a project?

Post by podonnell » Tue Aug 09, 2022 6:56 pm

For example, I have two possible intros to a song I'm working on. The only difference is a few measures are removed in one version. Is it possible to 'save' this version in my project somehow, or do I have to 'save as' a separate project? The problem there would be I would continue working on only one of the projects, and have to come back and eventually fix up the alternate one if I wanted to switch to that.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 22643
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Is there a way to have 'versions' right in a project?

Post by Acoustica Greg » Wed Aug 10, 2022 10:36 am

Hi,

There's no feature like that. You could have to save it as a separate project, and then you would have "version control" issues.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Check out our Mixcraft University 101 video tutorials.

FluMusic
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2022 3:19 pm

Re: Is there a way to have 'versions' right in a project?

Post by FluMusic » Wed Aug 10, 2022 4:11 pm

I'll often duplicate a track to have as an "earlier version" or original copy or whatever of a clip I'm working on. And then just mute this track and it is there when you or if you need it as an alternative.

So if you're alternative intro has even a dozen tracks, you can duplicate each of them, group them together in a sub mix or whatever, and then just mute them and they are there when you want them.

Post Reply