Mixdown to Track with SynthV issue

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, rsaintjohn

ppayne
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2019 6:19 am

Mixdown to Track with SynthV issue

Post by ppayne »

Hi all,

Do any of you also have a problem with Synthesizer V from Dreamtonics when you mixdown into a new track. For me, Mixcraft never finishes and I have to kill the application. Exporting to a file within SynthV vst works without any problems.

Patrick
User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 24429
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mixdown to Track with SynthV issue

Post by Acoustica Greg »

Hi,

This is Synthesizer V by Dreamtronics?

You're "bouncing" the track by right-clicking and selecting "Mix To New Audio Track" when this happens? Or mixing down to an audio file? Or both?

When you say "mix down within SynthV," do you mean from a standalone version or something?


Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Check out our tutorial videos on YouTube: Mixcraft 10 University 101
ppayne
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2019 6:19 am

Re: Mixdown to Track with SynthV issue

Post by ppayne »

Hi Greg,
Acoustica Greg wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 5:38 pm This is Synthesizer V by Dreamtronics?
Yes
Acoustica Greg wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 5:38 pm You're "bouncing" the track by right-clicking and selecting "Mix To New Audio Track" when this happens?
Right
Acoustica Greg wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 5:38 pm Or mixing down to an audio file? Or both?
Mixdown to an audio file works in Mixcraft. That's interessting
Acoustica Greg wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 5:38 pm When you say "mix down within SynthV," do you mean from a standalone version or something?
In the plugin itself you can also make an export to an audio file. It works here too. There is also a standalone version, but it has nothing to do with it.

I have created a ticket (ID 382582) including a log file and a screenshot

Best Regards,
Patrick
ppayne
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2019 6:19 am

Re: Mixdown to Track with SynthV issue

Post by ppayne »

Hi Greg,

here's another interesting fact. After about 20 minutes, the application is suddenly functional again and the desired audio track is there. Here is an excerpt from the log:

Code: Select all

12:07:52 [975 mils] : PianoRollControl::SetClip() EXIT
12:07:53 [ 21 mils] : AudioTrack::Bounce exiting, returning 2.
12:07:53 [ 28 mils] : CProject::BounceSelectedTrack() worked = 1 - EXIT
>>> pause <<<
12:24:39 [740 mils] : ACGuiWindow::ACGuiWindow()
12:24:39 [740 mils] : ACGuiWindow::ACGuiWindow() - exit constructor for 
12:24:39 [740 mils] : Dialog Resize: 300, 140
12:24:39 [779 mils] : Dialog Resize: 300, 140
The result, however, is very strange.There is a lot of audio information missing at the beginning and the rest of the audio track is too late in timing and out of sync
issue_bounce_track.png
issue_bounce_track.png (114.54 KiB) Viewed 274 times
Patrick
User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 24429
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mixdown to Track with SynthV issue

Post by Acoustica Greg »

Hi,

When you mix down to an audio file, and it worked, what kind of audio file did you choose?
Does it happen if you bypass the effects on that track?


Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Check out our tutorial videos on YouTube: Mixcraft 10 University 101
ppayne
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2019 6:19 am

Re: Mixdown to Track with SynthV issue

Post by ppayne »

Acoustica Greg wrote: Tue Feb 13, 2024 10:52 am Hi,

When you mix down to an audio file, and it worked, what kind of audio file did you choose?
Does it happen if you bypass the effects on that track?


Greg
Hi Greg,

yes the same happens without any effects on the track (I have removed them all for testing).

When I mix down to a file and it worked, I exported as WAV in all cases.

Patrick
cactus-head
Posts: 977
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 3:09 pm

Re: Mixdown to Track with SynthV issue

Post by cactus-head »

may not be a thing but: check if there is a background popup or something that is waiting for confirmation or acknowledgment that may be hidden behind mixcraft or another window.
User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 24429
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mixdown to Track with SynthV issue

Post by Acoustica Greg »

Hi,

That's actually a good thought, because looking at the log file, the bounce process completes successfully before the big gap in time occurs.

The bounce itself takes just over a minute.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Check out our tutorial videos on YouTube: Mixcraft 10 University 101
ppayne
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2019 6:19 am

Re: Mixdown to Track with SynthV issue

Post by ppayne »

There is no visible dialog or something else in the background. It also works when mixdown into a file, which contradicts the idea. It also wouldn't explain why some of the audio data is missing. There must be something different between mixdown to file and bounce to audio track.

Patrick
ppayne
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2019 6:19 am

Re: Mixdown to Track with SynthV issue

Post by ppayne »

Acoustica Greg wrote: Tue Feb 13, 2024 1:26 pm Hi,

That's actually a good thought, because looking at the log file, the bounce process completes successfully before the big gap in time occurs.

The bounce itself takes just over a minute.

Greg
Hi Greg,

I have compared the behavior of the two variants for the mix down:

1. Mixed down to file = needs 2 seconds and everything is ok (44100 kHz - 16 bit)
2. Bounce to Track (44100 khz 16 bit) ) needs 20 minutes and the audio file is sometimes empty or sometimes contains only half of the data

I tried all kinds of parameters in the plugin again without success. In the end, I have no idea where the problem comes from. There is no open dialog window or anything like that. I don't understand where the difference between the two mix down variants is supposed to be. I think in both cases a WAV file will certainly be generated internally.

I could produce two more logs to compare them. Once the mixdown to file and once bounce to audio track. Maybe that can help?

I first use the workaround via the audio file (solo and mixdown to file). This plugin is more for fun and is not used on a daily basis. For this reason, from my side, you can treat the error with low priority. At some point, of course, it should be fixed.

Patrick
User avatar
Northfield.Lenox
Posts: 226
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 8:23 am
Location: Manitoba Canada
Contact:

Re: Mixdown to Track with SynthV issue

Post by Northfield.Lenox »

Hi - Not sure this helps, but I have been using Synth V since Feb 2023 on whatever the most current build of MC has been, and have not run into any problems either rendering a single track to audio, or with mixing down a project with Synth V still in 'virtual instrument' mode.
User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 24429
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mixdown to Track with SynthV issue

Post by Acoustica Greg »

Hi,

Does the problem happen with any Synthesizer V MIDI clip? Does it happen in any project?

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Check out our tutorial videos on YouTube: Mixcraft 10 University 101
cactus-head
Posts: 977
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 3:09 pm

Re: Mixdown to Track with SynthV issue

Post by cactus-head »

Also is a demo version being used or a full paid version? Might be limits to what a demo version can do.
User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 24429
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mixdown to Track with SynthV issue

Post by Acoustica Greg »

Hi,

The demo doesn't appear to include the VST version.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Check out our tutorial videos on YouTube: Mixcraft 10 University 101
ppayne
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2019 6:19 am

Re: Mixdown to Track with SynthV issue

Post by ppayne »

Acoustica Greg wrote: Wed Feb 14, 2024 10:35 am Hi,

Does the problem happen with any Synthesizer V MIDI clip? Does it happen in any project?

Greg
a very good question. I set up a completely new project with a few notes. Now I have a slightly different phenomenon. Now Bounce to Track works without pausing, but the audio file is always completely empty. Mix down to file still works without any problems. I'm confused :mrgreen:

Patrick
Last edited by ppayne on Wed Feb 14, 2024 11:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
Post Reply