Questions on EZDrummer 1 to 2 upgrade

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Post Reply
User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6925
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Questions on EZDrummer 1 to 2 upgrade

Post by Mark Bliss » Sun Dec 27, 2015 12:45 pm

Questions for anyone who has done this already. (I haven't had a chance to explore the new program yet and thought maybe there were some handy tips that those who have might share.)
And as usual, while the company makes some pretty good user friendly software IMO, help and support isn't their strongest point........

My first question is about compatability. IE: Will old Mixcraft projects using EZD1 function with EXD2 substituted?
(I have EZD lite, EZD1 and now EZD2 installed and its time to "clean house" to make room for a bunch of new stuff I picked up during recent sales...... It was a good Christmas for me!)

And on that note, any tips about installation, migrating EZX or MIDI files, presets, anything along those lines? Similarly, anyone have any issues with uninstalling earlier versions?

I am forgetting something else I wanted to ask........ :mrgreen:
Stay in tune, Mark

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

blaze591
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:58 am

Re: Questions on EZDrummer 1 to 2 upgrade

Post by blaze591 » Wed Dec 30, 2015 3:29 am

Mark, as far as I recall I just installed EZD2 and removed EZD1. The original libraries which were supplied with EZD1 remained accessible and I didn't notice any difference whatsoever in terms of ongoing use within Mixcraft.

User avatar
Studio 919
Posts: 290
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 8:54 am
Location: Middle Georgia, USA

Re: Questions on EZDrummer 1 to 2 upgrade

Post by Studio 919 » Wed Dec 30, 2015 10:42 am

Hey Mark,

Sorry for the late response. Before I upgraded from EZ1 to EZ2, I had some of the same questions/concerns. Below is a thread that I posted on the Toontrack forum. The installation (upgrade) was relatively simple. I might add that I have several projects in process that use EZ1. After upgrading they still "play" as before, but I have not tried to edit any of them yet. Due to several situations (life issues) I have not been in a position to work on any music or "play around" with EZ2 yet.

You have always been willing and able to offer tips and suggestions to help me. Hopefully this will help you to some degree.

Barry

Hey Y'all,
Currently, my daw is Mixcraft 7 Pro Studio both in 32 bit and 64 bit. I haven't decided whether or not to stay with 32 bit or change to 64 bit; so, I have both installed.
I also have Ezdrummer 1 in 32 bit and 64 bit along with several EZX's. This means I have a lot of files downloaded on my pc. Now, I'm looking at upgrading to EZDrummer 2 and have a few questions:

1. Is there a way to remove everything related to EZDrummer from my pc BEFORE downloading EZDrummer 2?
2. If so, how should this be done?
3. Will this "clean up", or possibly streamline, my hard drive related to EZDrummer products?

Thanks in advance for the replies.

Barry

August 6, 2015
7:51 am CET
John
Sweden
Admin

Hi,

you do not need to uninstall EZdrummer 1 and your EZX:s before installing EZdrummer 2. EZdrummer 1 will be replaced.
If you have updated your EZX:s to the latest version, they will already be optimized for EZdrummer 2.

If you indeed wish to uninstall everything before re-installng, you simply uninstall from the Windows Add/Remove Program. There are no particular benefits to it, though.

August 6, 2015
4:58 pm CET

Doodad

Thanks for the response, John.

I looked at all the files that had been downloaded and unzipped on my pc and I was just wondering if I should "clean it up" and then download a clean EZDrummer 2.

All my Toontrack products are up to date. My operating system (Windows 7, Home, 64 bit) may not be totally up to date, however.

Barry

August 6, 2015
7:24 pm CET

I would just download the Full 2.0.2 installer and the 2.1.1 update, then use the 'Check for updates' function in EZdrummer 2, to see if everything's up to date.


August 6, 2015
11:54 pm CET
Doodad

Thanks for your help, John.
No matter where you go, there you are.

Image

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6925
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Questions on EZDrummer 1 to 2 upgrade

Post by Mark Bliss » Wed Dec 30, 2015 11:05 am

Thanks folks, appreciate the input. I would have normally just tested it out myself by now, but........
I was going to install and take a test ride on my laptop last weekend, then came the DOH! moment when I found that it wont install on anything less than W7. (My lappy is Vista) So I pushed that install off temporarily. I havent had a chance to work at my desk in a bit, so the other W7 desktop computer doesnt have anything updated.
I have the W7 upgrade disc on hand, and I just need to finish some serious house cleaning and backup first. I got a bunch of new software toys during the holiday sales and I am eager to get everything installed and play with it.
I'll get to it shortly.

Thanks again!
Stay in tune, Mark

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

tonymus
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 3:19 pm

Re: Questions on EZDrummer 1 to 2 upgrade

Post by tonymus » Wed Dec 30, 2015 2:38 pm

First off, I need to preface my comments by saying I have far less expertise than most of you, and I cannot rule out user error.

That said, I have a composition recorded in Mixcraft and using a sample in the bridge from EZD1. When I updated to EZD2, the sample disappeared (I went in looking to re-mix the composition). I looked for the equivalent sample in EZD2, but could not find the exact one. The samples I was able to load in EZD2 seemed a bit muted compared to the sample I used from EZD1. I worked around it by finding a sample I liked in EZD2, and worked some Mixcraft magic on it until it sounded close enough. I really don't know what happened, but I plan to load MC7 and EZD1 on another computer and bring my original composition over to that.

I like EZD2, but it was a shock to have that happen...

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6925
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Questions on EZDrummer 1 to 2 upgrade

Post by Mark Bliss » Wed Dec 30, 2015 5:44 pm

Thanks for your input Tony, appreciate it.

The open project portion of the question isn't that big of a deal for me, I just like to know what to expect.
Stay in tune, Mark

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

User avatar
Rolling Estonian
Posts: 1639
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 9:42 am
Location: MD/DC

Re: Questions on EZDrummer 1 to 2 upgrade

Post by Rolling Estonian » Thu Dec 31, 2015 7:35 pm

So I took the plunge (with permission! :mrgreen: )

Love it so far! I also found this: http://www.drumangle.com/ezdrummer-2-tutorials/

I've only done a bit of the videos but it seems to be free........

Within a few minutes using the tap to find I laid down a nice beat! This is going to be a blast!

M

User avatar
Studio 919
Posts: 290
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 8:54 am
Location: Middle Georgia, USA

Re: Questions on EZDrummer 1 to 2 upgrade

Post by Studio 919 » Thu Dec 31, 2015 9:11 pm

Hey Rolling Estonian,

I agree. Since I upgraded to EZ2 I have not been able to spend much time on music, but I did take a look at the tap to find. I think this will be one of the features I like the most. Within just a few minutes I was able to find just the right groove and fills I was looking for.

I think EZ2 is going to be sweet.

Barry (formerly known in here as Doodad)
No matter where you go, there you are.

Image

Lelik
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 9:36 am
Location: Italy

Re: Questions on EZDrummer 1 to 2 upgrade

Post by Lelik » Fri Jan 01, 2016 10:27 am

I also updated my EZdrummer1 to 2 few days ago, and I think it was worth doing.
Anyway few details:
- the mixer included in EZsrummer2 is not a real mix, and you will only find pre-mixed settings with only very few parameters that are adjustable; the sound is good, but at the end you could find that you will need to mix the old way, using the multichannel options and not using the premixed settings
- the "tap to find" feature is nice but after a while I found out that the results are often more disappointing than expected, on the contrary the suggestions that you can get with the "Song creator" are really interesting
- EZdrummer2 replaces EZdrummer1 (it's not available anymore) but as far as I can say, I see also all the old midi loops, the old pre-mixed settings, and so on; the new sounds are good and there are some more choices
- I'm still using Mixcraft7 32 bits (why? I don't know...maybe just because it worked, and I have mostly 32 bits plugins), and with EZdrummer2 I can't have 2 virtual tracks with EZdrummer2 unlike EZdrummer1; the software tells that there is not enough memory for two tracks with 32 bits system! Sooner or later I will try everything 64 bits...

User avatar
Rolling Estonian
Posts: 1639
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 9:42 am
Location: MD/DC

Re: Questions on EZDrummer 1 to 2 upgrade

Post by Rolling Estonian » Sun Jan 03, 2016 4:57 pm

Mark,

I think you should definitely get EZ2 and make a video! (Helmut gave me the idea!)

M

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6925
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Questions on EZDrummer 1 to 2 upgrade

Post by Mark Bliss » Sun Jan 03, 2016 5:58 pm

Oh, I bought it, just haven't installed it yet. Actually I have a few new toys that require Windows 7 or later, and have to do some backing up, archiving and some serious hard drive house cleaning before installing a new OS. (I have the W7 upgrade disc ready to go.....)
Some tutorial video creation may be forthcoming, we will see, but like I mentioned, I have found making them to be a huge time suck. It easily takes 10 times or more longer than a text and graphic tutorial. :roll:
The biggest advantage to video IMO is the screen recording, and that really adds to the resource and time consumption.

I am contemplating some things....... 8)
Stay in tune, Mark

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

Post Reply