Will Waves Tune Native Plugin Work With Mixcraft?

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

nlprod1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 9:46 pm

Will Waves Tune Native Plugin Work With Mixcraft?

Post by nlprod1 » Thu May 16, 2013 9:33 pm

There is a nice special on the Waves Tune Native Vocal plugins that I want to purchase but was wondering if anyone has used them in Mixcraft before.

Thanks 8)

nlprod1

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2432
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Will Waves Tune Native Plugin Work With Mixcraft?

Post by trevlyns » Thu May 16, 2013 11:42 pm

Hi!

No reason why it shouldn't - it supports VST - but make sure it has a 32 bit version. Mixcraft wont accept 64 bit plugins
Keep on trackin'

Trevor

Website
Soundcloud
FaceBook

Official OFC™ Founding Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX8 Pro; Intel quad core i-5; 3.0 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19827
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Will Waves Tune Native Plugin Work With Mixcraft?

Post by Acoustica Greg » Fri May 17, 2013 10:24 am

Hi,

Actually, we've had some customers get frustrated with Waves Tune. You might be better off with Melodyne or Auto-Tune instead.

Greg

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2432
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Will Waves Tune Native Plugin Work With Mixcraft?

Post by trevlyns » Fri May 17, 2013 1:57 pm

Thanks for the correction Greg, I'm a Melodyne man myself - highly recommended :D
Keep on trackin'

Trevor

Website
Soundcloud
FaceBook

Official OFC™ Founding Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX8 Pro; Intel quad core i-5; 3.0 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

nlprod1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 9:46 pm

Re: Will Waves Tune Native Plugin Work With Mixcraft?

Post by nlprod1 » Fri May 17, 2013 4:41 pm

Thanks all

There does still appear to be some problems rewire when trying to bring the plugin into mixcraft 6. Appreciate the heads up.

nlprod1

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6552
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Will Waves Tune Native Plugin Work With Mixcraft?

Post by Mark Bliss » Sat May 18, 2013 5:48 am

Not intending to nose in or redirect the thread, but in addition:

It seems that my MC projects often get glitchy and buggy with Waves plug ins in general, and it seems to be a frequent comment here in the forums.
Any comments on why? Is it just certain ones, do they typically demand more resources? Any thoughts?

(I have my eye on adding a few, but am hesitant because of this.)
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

Ianpb
Posts: 1220
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2010 10:05 am
Location: London, England

Re: Will Waves Tune Native Plugin Work With Mixcraft?

Post by Ianpb » Sat May 18, 2013 7:00 pm

I've never had any problems with Waves plugins on either v5 or v6. I do have Waves Tune as part of a package but I've never bothered with it.

Ianpb
Posts: 1220
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2010 10:05 am
Location: London, England

Re: Will Waves Tune Native Plugin Work With Mixcraft?

Post by Ianpb » Mon May 27, 2013 10:20 pm

Acoustica Greg wrote:Hi,
Actually, we've had some customers get frustrated with Waves Tune. You might be better off with Melodyne or Auto-Tune instead.
Greg
I found this instruction video on how to make Waves Tune work with Pro-Tools by using an auxilliary track, but I'm a bit baffled. Is it possible to translate this for use with Mixcraft? I'm sick of the destructiveness and poor quality of Melodyne and was hoping to give it a try.

http://www.waves.com/content.aspx?id=11296

Brother Charles
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 9:35 am

Re: Will Waves Tune Native Plugin Work With Mixcraft?

Post by Brother Charles » Mon May 27, 2013 11:42 pm

Waves Tune is arguably the BEST . . . the most transparent-sounding. Unfortunately, no, it doesn't work in MixCraft. It works well in Studio One though. I also use Melodyne. Melodyne is very good; Tune is great.
Thanks & God Bless,
Bro. Charles
Reviewer's Revival Blogsite | Facebook

Ianpb
Posts: 1220
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2010 10:05 am
Location: London, England

Re: Will Waves Tune Native Plugin Work With Mixcraft?

Post by Ianpb » Tue May 28, 2013 5:45 am

I've realised that Melodyne is killing the dynamism of my vocal tracks. Not only does it shave off the 'air', but it often destroys a good vocal by occasionally distorting vowel sounds, causing them to lose definition and making them sound like it's being sung with a throat full of phlegm.

I wonder if the Acoustica developers are making any attempts to resolve the incompatibility between Mixcraft and Waves-Tune? After all, it's a considerable handicap in not being able to use the best vocal correction software available.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19827
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Will Waves Tune Native Plugin Work With Mixcraft?

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue May 28, 2013 2:21 pm

Hi,

This is the first time I've heard that Waves Tune Native is "the best."

We would have to implement an option to have Mixcraft act as a Rewire slave, and we don't currently have plans to do that.

Greg

Ianpb
Posts: 1220
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2010 10:05 am
Location: London, England

Re: Will Waves Tune Native Plugin Work With Mixcraft?

Post by Ianpb » Tue May 28, 2013 3:10 pm

Acoustica Greg wrote: This is the first time I've heard that Waves Tune Native is "the best."
It surely can't be any worse than Melodyne. I've been finding people in various other forums confirming my findings about Melodyne, that it does destroy the fidelity and life of whatever goes into it. The consensus I've found is that Waves-Tune is better, more natural, and it produces less artefacts.
Acoustica Greg wrote: We would have to implement an option to have Mixcraft act as a Rewire slave, and we don't currently have plans to do that.
It was promised that Waves Tune would be made compatible with Mixcraft 6 through the implementation of Rewire, but now it seems that Mixcraft's Rewire feature wasn't even tested on Waves Tune at all, otherwise the incompatibility would have been realised. Yet even now there are no plans to resolve this issue, despite the fact that the Acoustica website claims that Mixcraft Rewire will allow Rewire-compatible music software to be used with Mixcraft itself. Under these circumstances I would have thought this issue should be given higher priority, hopefully before anyone else splashes out hard-earned money on Waves Tune and then finds Mixcraft unable to live up to its promise. There are laws in the European Union that act against that.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19827
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Will Waves Tune Native Plugin Work With Mixcraft?

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue May 28, 2013 3:18 pm

Hi,

When we refer to Rewire support, we're talking about Mixcraft acting as a Rewire master, controlling another application. Apparently, implementing a Rewire slave feature would be quite a task. As with any feature, the software developers have to weigh the benefits of taking on a development task like that. I'll pass your feedback along.

Greg

Grayhem
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2010 1:17 pm

Re: Will Waves Tune Native Plugin Work With Mixcraft?

Post by Grayhem » Tue Oct 15, 2013 3:41 pm

I have just found out THE HARD WAY that Wave Tune is not functioning correctly within Mixcraft 6. This is such a shame as I was able to get this well renowned plugin for only $49 [ down from $400 ]
Are there any plans to correct the incompatibility? Mixcraft 7 having Rewire 'slave' functionality?
This was my first tuning plugin that i hoped would be my tuning solution, in that it was Rewire, but it is not working right and basically useless. My request would be . . . please work on the Rewire 'slave' feature ? :(

Many thanks
Graeme

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19827
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Will Waves Tune Native Plugin Work With Mixcraft?

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue Oct 15, 2013 4:28 pm

Hi,

Thanks for the suggestion!

Greg

Post Reply