Preview won't play -- why?

Support and feedback for Spin It Again.

Moderators: Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan

Lodgepole

Preview won't play -- why?

Post by Lodgepole »

I can record a tape, apply effects, split it into tracks, save to files, etc. During the record process I can hear what I'm recording, and the files sound fine once I've saved. But I can't get any sound from the Preview and Edit Screen, either when I click the Preview button or when I click the button to its left, which I assume is a standard Play button. And I don't get any preview sound when I have "Automatically preview play after recording is done" checked. What's going on?

I'm a newbie, so maybe the answer is obvious?
Acoustica Greg

Post by Acoustica Greg »

Hi,

I was going to say that the preview button sometimes doesn't produce any sound, because it's only playing the beginning and the ending of each proposed track. When this happens, it may be an indication that you've got a bit too much silence at the start and end of each track.

However, clicking the arrow to the left of the Preview button should produce sound even if there is a lot of silence at the start and end of the tracks (assuming you let it play long enough).

What version of the software do you have? The latest is v1.1 build 30 (as of this writing).

Can you hear the voice that steps you through the program? Double-click on the small volume control icon that appears on your Windows taskbar and make sure that you don't have your wave playback muted (recording and playback have separate volume / mute controls).

Greg
Lodgepole

Post by Lodgepole »

Thanks Greg. I'm using v1.1 build 30. I can't produce sound with the Preview button, and I can't get sound with the arrow to its left however long I wait. Also, I can't hear the voice that steps me through.