Mixcraft 8 Keyboard Sounds.... too much sustain...not enough release!

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, rsaintjohn

shrimper14

Mixcraft 8 Keyboard Sounds.... too much sustain...not enough release!

Post by shrimper14 »

New Forum User here,

I'm a novice keyboard player, recently started, and I'm currently using mainly right hand chords plus one finger left hand for bass. In order to get a half decent sound,I find that I need the keyboards sustain pedal on/down continuously but having recently acquired Mixcraft 8 Pro Studio I am finding that nearly all the keyboard sounds I try (from say piano to Rhodes EP) all have way too much sustain on them with really long release/decay times which results in a mud-like sound building up after just a couple of chords have been played.

Wondered if there are others out there who have had the same issue and whether someone's hit on a good solution (possibly a strong decay vst?) which sorts this problem out?

Shrimper14
mick

Re: Mixcraft 8 Keyboard Sounds.... too much sustain...not enough release!

Post by mick »

Don't get anything like you explain with my keyboard and pedal but one thing comes to mind before exploring further and that is some sustain pedals have a switch - usually on the underside that reverses the action of the pedal. It sounds like you have constant sustain working and this is exactly what this switch does, check it out and let us know if it is the problem. Another thing regarding sustain is if the pedal is pressed when starting Mixcraft, some pedals reverse the action this way rather than the switch.
You can also try starting Mixcraft with the pedal unpluged then plug it in when Mixcraft is ready.
What pedal is it?
shrimper14

Post by shrimper14 »

Re Mick reply,