How to ID 32 bit Mixcraft plugs

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

Post Reply
Ampfixer
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 1:15 pm

How to ID 32 bit Mixcraft plugs

Post by Ampfixer » Sat Jan 27, 2018 12:18 pm

In the past I've had many problems that were a result of mixing 32 bit plugs in my 64 bit system. I want to avoid this in Mixcraft but I have no idea what is 32 bit in the bundled VSTi's or plugs.

How can I determine what is 32 bit so I can exclude it from my projects?

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6658
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: How to ID 32 bit Mixcraft plugs

Post by Mark Bliss » Sat Jan 27, 2018 12:43 pm

Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

User avatar
msnickybee
Posts: 245
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 3:40 am
Location: Chester, UK
Contact:

Re: How to ID 32 bit Mixcraft plugs

Post by msnickybee » Sun Jan 28, 2018 3:44 pm

Personally, this is an irritation of mine, that so so many 32bit only plugs are included in MC (ProStudio), albeit many good ones! My projects drown in a combination of 32/64...
But, there's no easy answer, apart from for my new project I'm going to source entirely 64bit (rather than lazily reaching for a Kjaerhus)
Nicky
MC8.1 PS user since v5
My latest EP Bittersweet is now available on Spotify
or check out my YouTube channel

aj113
Posts: 1379
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: How to ID 32 bit Mixcraft plugs

Post by aj113 » Sun Jan 28, 2018 4:58 pm

msnickybee wrote:...But, there's no easy answer..
Yes there is, use MC 32 bit.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20437
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: How to ID 32 bit Mixcraft plugs

Post by Acoustica Greg » Mon Jan 29, 2018 10:38 am

HI,

One reason we keep the 32-bit plugins in there is for backwards-compatibility. Maybe someday they could be an optional install for 64-bit Mixcraft.

Mixing 32- and 64-bit plugins should necessarily be a problem. The audio quality is the same. The only difference is that 64-bit plugins can access RAM outside of the first 4 GB.

A problem only arises if you have a bunch of 32-bit plugins and it starts being a drag on your CPUs because of all the bridging going on. Lots of people run both 32- and 64-bit plugins without issues.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
msnickybee
Posts: 245
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 3:40 am
Location: Chester, UK
Contact:

Re: How to ID 32 bit Mixcraft plugs

Post by msnickybee » Mon Jan 29, 2018 3:29 pm

aj113 wrote:
msnickybee wrote:...But, there's no easy answer..
Yes there is, use MC 32 bit.
Hmmmm ok.
Nicky
MC8.1 PS user since v5
My latest EP Bittersweet is now available on Spotify
or check out my YouTube channel

Ampfixer
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 1:15 pm

Re: How to ID 32 bit Mixcraft plugs

Post by Ampfixer » Mon Jan 29, 2018 4:25 pm

So are all the bundled plugs and VSTi's 32 bit? It's important. I have at least 300 plugs so I'll never be short of them. They're all 64 bit.

I guess all the cool synths are 32 bit as well? I'd really like a list because I've committed to a full 64 bit system and software. Could we get a list of what's what?

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20437
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: How to ID 32 bit Mixcraft plugs

Post by Acoustica Greg » Mon Jan 29, 2018 4:30 pm

Ampfixer wrote:So are all the bundled plugs and VSTi's 32 bit? It's important. I have at least 300 plugs so I'll never be short of them. They're all 64 bit.

I guess all the cool synths are 32 bit as well? I'd really like a list because I've committed to a full 64 bit system and software. Could we get a list of what's what?
HI,

Lots of the bundled plugins are 64-bit. Just look along the top of the effect to see which one it is:
64-bit effect
64-bit effect
64-biteffect.png (59.79 KiB) Viewed 1840 times

The post linked earlier in this thread has a list.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

aj113
Posts: 1379
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: How to ID 32 bit Mixcraft plugs

Post by aj113 » Tue Jan 30, 2018 12:48 am

msnickybee wrote:
aj113 wrote:
msnickybee wrote:...But, there's no easy answer..
Yes there is, use MC 32 bit.
Hmmmm ok.
That's what I do.

Ampfixer
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 1:15 pm

Re: How to ID 32 bit Mixcraft plugs

Post by Ampfixer » Tue Jan 30, 2018 8:59 am

Thanks for that Mark, exactly what I was looking for.

Post Reply