Problems CPU with Waves Plugins.

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

Post Reply
carlosigls
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2017 7:49 am

Problems CPU with Waves Plugins.

Post by carlosigls » Mon Dec 02, 2019 8:41 am

Hi, I have a problem with Waves plugins when they are visible, the CPU goes up a lot, but when I hide them, the consumption drops. It only happens to me with Waves plugins. Strange behaviour.
Mixcraft visible.png
Mixcraft visible.png (421.41 KiB) Viewed 323 times
Mixcraft Oculto.png
Mixcraft Oculto.png (216.69 KiB) Viewed 323 times

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19818
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Problems CPU with Waves Plugins.

Post by Acoustica Greg » Mon Dec 02, 2019 10:11 am

Hi,

Get the problem to happen again, then quit Mixcraft and send us your mixcraft-log.txt file.

To find the mixcraft-log file, highlight the following line and press Ctrl+C to copy it:

Code: Select all

%appdata%\Acoustica\Mixcraft\
Press the Windows Key+R to pop up the Run box in Windows. Click in the Run box and press Ctrl+V to paste in the line from above. Finally, click OK to go to the location of the mixcraft-log.txt file. Submit an Acoustica Support Request and attach the log file along with a brief description of the problem.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
Rolling Estonian
Posts: 1343
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 9:42 am
Location: MD/DC

Re: Problems CPU with Waves Plugins.

Post by Rolling Estonian » Mon Dec 02, 2019 10:47 am

I'm staying away from Waves for awhile, especially their freebies which are just offered to get you to download the new Waves Central, no thanks.

Try using the non vst3 version to see if that's it.

M

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19818
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Problems CPU with Waves Plugins.

Post by Acoustica Greg » Wed Dec 04, 2019 11:27 am

Hi,

The log file showed that the computer was a dual core processor. It would likely help to have a more powerful computer in this case. Some plugins require way more CPU processing than others, and Waves plugins require a lot.

When I display this plugin, my CPU goes up maybe a percentage point or two. I'm not seeing such a giant jump. When I try it in Mixcraft 8, there's more CPU usage when I display it in Mixcraft 9.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

carlosigls
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2017 7:49 am

Re: Problems CPU with Waves Plugins.

Post by carlosigls » Wed Dec 04, 2019 1:25 pm

Those same plugins in other Daws do not have that excessive consumption. I have tried them in Reaper, Cakewalk Sonar and they do not increase the CPU consumption as it does in Mixcraft. I will not change PC for some plugins. I don't know the reason, if it's graphic, if it's something I have installed, but in Mixcraft it doesn't look good.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19818
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Problems CPU with Waves Plugins.

Post by Acoustica Greg » Wed Dec 04, 2019 2:35 pm

carlosigls wrote:
Wed Dec 04, 2019 1:25 pm
Those same plugins in other Daws do not have that excessive consumption. I have tried them in Reaper, Cakewalk Sonar and they do not increase the CPU consumption as it does in Mixcraft. I will not change PC for some plugins. I don't know the reason, if it's graphic, if it's something I have installed, but in Mixcraft it doesn't look good.
Hi,

Do the other DAWs have a CPU meter? Does it do the same thing in Mixcraft 8?

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19818
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Problems CPU with Waves Plugins.

Post by Acoustica Greg » Wed Dec 04, 2019 3:32 pm

Hi,

Looking at the specs for this plugin, it wants more CPU:

CPU
Intel Core i5 / i7 / Xeon / AMD Quad-Core

It doesn't support dual core.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

Frantiac
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 12:11 pm
Location: Valencia, Spain

Re: Problems CPU with Waves Plugins.

Post by Frantiac » Wed Dec 04, 2019 3:36 pm

I thought I'd replied to this topic a few hours ago but I can't find it here...

Basically I said that I have a similar problem with Waves GTR. The individual modules work fine but Waves GTR Tool Rack.dll and Waves GTR Solo Tool Rack.dll are unusable - if the plugin's already in the project and I don't open the GUI it's OK (maybe 7% CPU) but if I open the GUI the CPU/Sytem meters jump to about 50% and stay there until I remove the plugin from its insert slot. Just closing the GUI doesn't solve the problem. It doesn't happen with any other plugins.

On Waves' advice I'm running v9.30 which is apparently the last version compatible with my system (Pentium 4 dual-core, 8 GB Ram). I also have Cubase 10 installed and both GTR & GTR Solo work perfectly, as do the standalone versions. This afternoon I sent a support request ticket with the .log file so we'll see what turns up.

While I'm here I have one other problem with both v8 and v9 of Mixcraft Pro Studio: sometimes when I load a project it won't play - I can access everything, move the cursor, open plugin GUIs etc. but when I hit play nothing happens. I used to reboot Mixcraft to solve the problem but I've recently discovered that by simply opening/closing the Preferences box it starts working. In case you're wondering if I'm being too hasty, i.e. hitting play before Mixcraft has had a chance to load properly, it's not the case - I always monitor the meters and wait for them to settle before doing anything, and if the CPU meter suddenly drops to zero that's the tell-tale sign that it won't play - weird. Once again I've sent a support ticket request with the .log file.

Could well be graphics problems - the final update for my onboard graphics was back in 2013 but in that case why is there no issue with Cubase & the standalone versions? Anyway it's no big deal and I know you're busy - in fact I wouldn't have bothered mentioning it at all if it hadn't been for this topic...
ESI Maya 44e soundcard --> Intel G41M dual-core, 8 GB RAM --> Windows 7 Ultimate x64 --> Mixcraft 9 Pro Studio

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19818
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Problems CPU with Waves Plugins.

Post by Acoustica Greg » Wed Dec 04, 2019 3:39 pm

Hi,

Waves GTR also wants a quad core computer, and both you and OP have dual core computers.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

Frantiac
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 12:11 pm
Location: Valencia, Spain

Re: Problems CPU with Waves Plugins.

Post by Frantiac » Wed Dec 04, 2019 3:45 pm

I've tried both v7 and v8 (both 32-bit) and the same problem occurred - they don't need quad-core, in face v7 doesn't even need dual-core. A Windows 10 thing maybe?
ESI Maya 44e soundcard --> Intel G41M dual-core, 8 GB RAM --> Windows 7 Ultimate x64 --> Mixcraft 9 Pro Studio

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19818
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Problems CPU with Waves Plugins.

Post by Acoustica Greg » Wed Dec 04, 2019 3:47 pm

Hi,

Here are the system requirements for Waves GTR Solo (they are the same or similar for OP's plugin):

CPU
Intel Core i5 / i7 / Xeon / AMD Quad-Core

Memory
8 GB RAM
8 GB free disk space on the system drive

Operating System
Windows 10 64 bit

Screen Resolution
Minimum: 1024x768
Recommended: 1280x1024 / 1600x1024

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

Frantiac
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 12:11 pm
Location: Valencia, Spain

Re: Problems CPU with Waves Plugins.

Post by Frantiac » Wed Dec 04, 2019 4:03 pm

Thanks Greg, time to get a new PC...
ESI Maya 44e soundcard --> Intel G41M dual-core, 8 GB RAM --> Windows 7 Ultimate x64 --> Mixcraft 9 Pro Studio

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19818
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Problems CPU with Waves Plugins.

Post by Acoustica Greg » Wed Dec 04, 2019 4:05 pm

Hi,

If you get more cores, Mixcraft will be able to divvy up processing tasks between the different cores.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

Post Reply