No output with my interface

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

giveguybrushgrog
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 5:44 pm

No output with my interface

Post by giveguybrushgrog » Thu Jun 25, 2020 5:53 pm

running mixcraft studio pro 9 (also tried 7) on windows 10 with a tascam us 16x08.

i have no sound through my headphones (tried three pairs) whether im trying to record or play. i can see that sound is being picked up, on the meters.

ive tried everything i can think of, checked my sound settings, tried different headphones.

i ran windows troubleshoot on the interface, and was able to hear the test sounds, so im at a total loss.

what could i be missing?

thanks in advance.

ste_p0270
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat May 09, 2020 12:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: No output with my interface

Post by ste_p0270 » Thu Jun 25, 2020 11:57 pm

Hi,

Have you had a look in the preferences option to ensure that the sound is being directed to the
relevant interface outputs?
Iron Label RGIR20FEL / LTD EC401 OW
M-Audio BX8 (pair) Presonus ERIS 3.5 (pair)
Mixcraft 9 PS / EZDrummer2 / POD GO
Ryzen 3600X / RX5700XT / 16GB DDR4 / 1TB NVME

giveguybrushgrog
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 5:44 pm

Re: No output with my interface

Post by giveguybrushgrog » Sat Jun 27, 2020 1:05 pm

yes, and thats where im a little bit confused.

previously, on other computers, i had two options for the ASIO device: us-16x08 ASIO, and, i believe, something like "us-16x08 mixing driver". i dont currently have the latter.

so for output, it gives me 4 options:

OUT 1/OUT 2
OUT 3/OUT 4
OUT 5/OUT 6
OUT 7/OUT 8

i no longer seem to have the option to just use "us-16x08 speaker", or whatever it was.

however, the interface manual says OUT/1 OUT 2 is the same thing/connected to the headphones.

ste_p0270
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat May 09, 2020 12:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: No output with my interface

Post by ste_p0270 » Sun Jun 28, 2020 1:40 am

Hi,

Have you tried uninstalling the driver and starting afresh with the tascam device?

I used to have the odd issue with a behringer interface that i was using. After my PC had been in sleep
mode, the behringer wouldn't be visible or usable unless i disconnected / reconnected the USB cable to make
windows see it again.

Do you get sound if you click on the monitoring option in MC?
Iron Label RGIR20FEL / LTD EC401 OW
M-Audio BX8 (pair) Presonus ERIS 3.5 (pair)
Mixcraft 9 PS / EZDrummer2 / POD GO
Ryzen 3600X / RX5700XT / 16GB DDR4 / 1TB NVME

giveguybrushgrog
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 5:44 pm

Re: No output with my interface

Post by giveguybrushgrog » Tue Jun 30, 2020 12:50 am

i tried it, and no dice.

i can hear the windows troubleshooting sound test.

yet no output when i arm a track (yes, remembering to hit the monitor button) or try to play anything.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21020
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: No output with my interface

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue Jun 30, 2020 12:11 pm

Hi,

You're using ASIO mode? The headphones are plugged into the ASIO device?

To find the mixcraft-log file, highlight the following line and press Ctrl+C to copy it:

Code: Select all

%appdata%\Acoustica\Mixcraft\
Press the Windows Key+R to pop up the Run box in Windows. Click in the Run box and press Ctrl+V to paste in the line from above. Finally, click OK to go to the location of the mixcraft-log.txt file. Submit an Acoustica Support Request and attach the log file along with a brief description of the problem.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

giveguybrushgrog
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 5:44 pm

Re: No output with my interface

Post by giveguybrushgrog » Wed Jul 01, 2020 9:11 am

Yes, I'm using ASIO mode and the headphones are plugged into the ASIO device.

I have submitted the support request per your instructions.

Drdish007
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2019 8:07 pm
Location: Tecumseh, ON, Canada

Re: No output with my interface

Post by Drdish007 » Wed Jul 01, 2020 1:45 pm

Hi,
My interface ( Scarlet 18i20 ) has a mixer software to route signals. If yours has a similar software, check it's settings. The, asio mix diver, may be the routing mixer for your signals. It may have a master volume setting.

- Myran
Mixcraft9RS(460)64Bit, Win. 10 64Bit, Intel i5 @ 3.20GHz, ssd 250GB(os),1TB hdd(library audio),1TB hdd (recorded audio),Nvidia GeForce1050i video,16GB RAM,Focusrite 18I20 2nd gen usb,Motu 5 ch.midi interface, D5,U220,Keystation88,B4000+,Leslie,Rhodes73mk1

giveguybrushgrog
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 5:44 pm

Re: No output with my interface

Post by giveguybrushgrog » Thu Jul 02, 2020 8:18 pm

i do have mixing software. fortunately, its pretty basic, not a lot of settings.

i hit a dead end working through mixcraft email support. was told everything sounded good/right, and that suggests it could be a hardware problem.

it could be. my interface is pretty old now. im noticing, for example, that it will have the usb light on even when its not connected, which is weird.

im reading though, that a lot of people have had this problem with the interface, particularly with the drivers. i stumbled upon a potential solution that has to do with windows 10 updates, and app permissions, but i checked, and my microphone has app permission.

i discovered asio4all, got that up and running, still no output. that, i would think, might further suggest a hardware problem, although it could still mean theres some strange setting, somewhere, that im not finding.

this weekend im having a couple of mixcraft owning friends over, and i will try the interface on their computer, and ill know for sure, but im afraid that whatever the problem is, i may have to get a new interface.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21020
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: No output with my interface

Post by Acoustica Greg » Fri Jul 03, 2020 10:17 am

Hi,

Did you try my suggestion of turning on the "Use Device's Preferred Settings" option in Mixcraft's Sound Device preferences?


Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

giveguybrushgrog
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 5:44 pm

Re: No output with my interface

Post by giveguybrushgrog » Fri Jul 03, 2020 11:52 am

i did, i think that was the default setting. i also tried without it.

giveguybrushgrog
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 5:44 pm

Re: No output with my interface

Post by giveguybrushgrog » Tue Jul 07, 2020 12:50 am

tried it on two other laptops with mixcraft, no output.

i think that makes it pretty clear its the interface. bummer.

thanks everyone, for your time and help.

User avatar
Rolling Estonian
Posts: 1587
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 9:42 am
Location: MD/DC

Re: No output with my interface

Post by Rolling Estonian » Tue Jul 07, 2020 6:05 am

Shopping is half the fun of this endeavor! :mrgreen:

You can get a very capable I/O for $100 now, or you could spend a lot more but for most that'll do.

M

giveguybrushgrog
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 5:44 pm

Re: No output with my interface

Post by giveguybrushgrog » Tue Jul 07, 2020 10:20 am

id be willing to drop up to 500 on a new interface.

my main thing is that id really like 8 xlr inputs, like the tascam interface has (im unlikely to buy the tascam again), and i cant seem to find anything that does.

the 8 xlr inputs is mainly necessary for drums. ive been using the glyn johns method, but i like having the option of close micing.

User avatar
Rolling Estonian
Posts: 1587
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 9:42 am
Location: MD/DC

Re: No output with my interface

Post by Rolling Estonian » Tue Jul 07, 2020 10:34 am

Focusrite 18i20 (Gen 3)

M

Post Reply