Technical question on audio interface

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, rsaintjohn

jcameron99

Technical question on audio interface

Post by jcameron99 »

This may be the wrong place to ask this question. But here it goes.

I need to record 8 tracks/busses(?) at once. IE: a set of drums. I see lots of multi-input interfaces. None of them actually say in plain english, "You can record up to 8 busses at once into your DAW". What are the technical specs I should be looking for?

Jam On,
Jim
Sturdy

Re: Technical question on audio interface

Post by Sturdy »

This is just my $0.02. I'm just a hobbyist.

If using mics, I found one of most important things to me is clean gain I can get from mic pres. In the specs that might show up as gain range, or dynamic range. I don't know how well specs translate into real life use, but lack of mic gain or noisy mic gain is something I notice. When I bought, that was a determining factor in what I bought.

I just record at 44.1khz, but to some people higher sample rates matter. Higher dynamic range in the AD/DA converters should mean cleaner sound all-else equal, but it's probably all relative to the limitation of sources and everything else whether it matters. I'm not in a perfect studio situation and manually denoise my pickup hum from guitars and basses, so I'm not sure overall the extra dynamic range helps me, but I guess it gives me a bit more room for error to the noise floor if I record a signal at a bit too low of level. That's really how I think of - gives me a margin of error on signal level. Back in 2000 I recorded at 16bit and I had to be very careful to get hot signal levels but not clip - but all the extra bit-depth headroom and extra processing power now takes much of that concern away.