Mixcraft STOCK VU Meter Plugin?

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, rsaintjohn

TrevsAudio

Mixcraft STOCK VU Meter Plugin?

Post by TrevsAudio »

Hey guys.

I'm doing a video series on MX 10 for Old Farts like myself, and complete beginners. I'd like to stick, as far as possible, to the stock Mixcraft plugins.

I can't seem to find anything with a VU meter to monitor recording input levels. Yes, there is that scale on the right of the master track in the mixer (is that a VU meter?) but it's much too small when trying to see a level of between say -18 and -12 dbVU. And yes, I know there are a number of free ones out there.

Am I missing anything here?
Old Dudes Rock!
Trevor
OFC™ Founding Member
Dell 3050 SFF; i3; 32 gig RAM; MX 8, 9 and 10.5 Pro; Win 11 Pro
Focusrite Solo; Sennheiser HD650 cans

Sample Projects: https://soundcloud.com/trevs_audio
YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/@trevsaudio
Acoustica Greg

Re: Mixcraft STOCK VU Meter Plugin?

Post by Acoustica Greg »

Hi,

No, there's not a stock VU meter. We have to keep plugin companies in business somehow. :lol: Maybe use a free one?

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Check out our tutorial videos on YouTube: Mixcraft 10 University 101
cactus-head

Post by cactus-head »

Hi,

This was something I had hunted for in the past. Bundled with Mixcraft - though not a dedicated VU meter is TB Ferox Tape Emulator. If you zero the controls that affect the sound and set the HP and LP to the min and max respectively - the sound should pass through without changing. You could use it last on a track or the master to see how things are and then in the mix disable it to make sure it isn't changing your sound.

Are you talking about a peak meter? Use SPAN. I think that comes in the box.
Last edited by cactus-head on Tue Dec 05, 2023 10:43 am, edited 2 times in total.
TrevsAudio

Post by TrevsAudio »