Do I need to buy an actual compressor for my mic ?

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, rsaintjohn

nateasy

Do I need to buy an actual compressor for my mic ?

Post by nateasy »

like the hardware ? Or can I just compress with the software ?
markcm

Post by markcm »

I'm a rookie but I think I can answer this pretty well. There are built in VST (software) compressors in Mixcraft and you can add your own free or purchased VST software compressors as well. So no, you don't "have to" buy a compressor.

From what I've been reading, hardware compressors are much preferred to software, particularly if you're talking free or cheap software. For the entry level rookie, I use the built in software compressor for now.

The same goes for hardware compressors, you get what you pay for. There's a few recent threads here on using guitar-effects or multi-effects processors for compressing mic's, some with reasonable results and others without; basically a trial and error if you have one but don't go out buying one for this purpose. I've read a few forums on vocal compression and it seems that if you want ultra low entry level you may find something better than a paper weight for around $75 although most of what I've seen, people won't even acknowledge a hardware compressor under a few hundred dollars. I've also found that people seem to swear by a good compressor considering it a manditory life line for vocal recording.
Mackie Onyx 1620 Firewire mixer
Intel Dual core, win7 x64 (4gb Ram)
R0ckerb0y

Post by R0ckerb0y »

In my limited experience I've found that having a hardware compressor inline before the computer/recording interface prevents you from peaking.

If you shout/yell/scream etc into a Mic and your levels are set for your regular singing voice, you will create a bloated sound that can't be fixed in the mix with a compression VST.